

Annual General Meeting

November 19, 2023 Red Deer Holiday Inn 1:00pm



1. [1:04] Kirk Jensen called the meeting to order.

Recording Secretary: Murray Young

2. [1:04] Roll call and review of voting procedures and eligible votes.

In Attendance:

Board members: 6 District Organizers: 3 Members: 15

TOTAL: 24

Quorum confirmed (24>20)

 [1:05] Adoption of Minutes from 2022 Annual General Meeting Sept 28, 2022, distributed to the Pickleball Alberta membership November 4, 2022.
Two errors were noted in the spelling of names and minutes were amended.
Motion to adopt 2022 Minutes as amended: Peter Wunke (Airdrie). Seconded: Steve Higham (Barrhead)
Carried.

4. [1:11] 2023 Year-in-Review

President Report; Kirk Jensen,

Vice President Report; Haddow

Membership, Communications, Technology, Officiating, Competitions, Coaching Reports delivered by Kirk.

Juniors delivered by Dean.

Treasurer Report by Jeff

Financials (Review of Engagement audit from King and Co. were presented) Budget for 2024 presented.

5. [1:48] Appointment of Auditors for 2023 Fiscal Year

Motion to appoint King & Co: Jeff Holm; Seconded: Sue Stevenson Carried.

- 6. [2:00] Election of 2024 Board of Directors [2:00 pm]
 - Candidate biographies were distributed November 17 to membership.
 - Jeff Holm presented an oral biography.
 - Call for any other nominations from the floor.
 - The proposed slate of Directors (cast as one ballot): Approved by acclamation.
- 7. [2:07] Other matters and discussion: Kirk thanked all volunteers, players, clubs, and board members for their hard work over the past 12 months resulting in a record breaking year for membership, services provided, and initiatives undertaken.
- 8. [2:09] Adjournment.





Addendum

Leading up to the AGM the following clubs were opposed to the \$10.00 development fee and that the AGM was not available online. They were assured their clubs and representatives would be noted in the AGM minutes. The clubs and representatives were:

Strathcona County Pickleball Association Barbara Mullen, St. Albert Pickleball Association James Porter, Parkland Pickleheads Pickleball Club Rena Thillman, High River Pickleball Club Brian Popowitch, Okotoks Pickleball Club Don Lang, Medicine Hat Pickleball Simon Neigum, Cochrane Pickleball Club Les Franke, Fort Saskatchewan Pickleball Association Grant Inman, Barrhead Pickleball Club Steve Higham, Yellowhead West Pickleball Club Don Kelly, Lacombe Pickleball Club Roanna McLenahan, Carstairs Pickleball Club, Johanne Zmijewski.

